ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old April 22nd, 2010, 05:24 AM   #1
Davidb1986
ninjette.org member

Name: David

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250r SE green with Monster energy decals!!!

Fischer Motorcycles

So I was looking at the 2010 Motorcycle Buyers guide in Wal Mart and saw Fischer MRX motorcycle. I looked them up on the net and they look pretty sweet and come with Olhins suspension. The price tag is $7995 and has a liquid cooled 647 v-twin engine. My question is has anyone heard of them and if so what do you think of the bike? I would be able to afford that and keep my ninja after I get out of Paramedic School and get start working as a medic (I am an EMT Basic now and have worked on an ambulance for 3 years).

Here is a link to the website, most of it is still under construction. http://www.fischer1.com/Fischer_Motorcycle.htm

Old April 22nd, 2010, 06:36 AM   #2
adouglas
Cat herder

Name: Gort
Location: A secret lair which, being secret, has an undisclosed location

Motorcycle(s): Aprilia RS660

MOTM - Jul '18, Nov '16, Aug '14, May '13
The styling is take-it-or-leave-it... If you like origami it rocks!

Here's the thing about startups like this. It's a high-risk thing. If you need a part that isn't standard you may be totally out of luck in two or three years.

Most business startups run at a loss for few years, and most fail during that time. If it's a restaurant or something, then go ahead and give them your money... the product they sell you is produced and consumed on the spot.

But if it's a durable goods manufacturer, you either need some degree of confidence that they'll be around to support you for the life of the product, or a rock-solid backup plan... up to and including the ability to (or access to someone who can) make your own parts to keep the bike on the road.