View Full Version : I want to paint my bike - how much paint would I need?

iplante
July 20th, 2012, 11:57 AM
Hello!

I really want to paint my bike. Only, I've never done anything like that before and I'm not sure what amount of paint I would need to paint everything, except the black lower fairing. I have a green 2003 250.

Another stupid question. I'd like to add some simple decals (i.e.: the Kawasaki logo). Should it go under or above the clear coat? Pros and cons?

Thanks!

Stingray1000
July 20th, 2012, 12:04 PM
I used 3 cans to completely paint my bike and had a 1/2 can left over. I used about 2 coats and I painted an extra small left fairing. I use the extra for little dings and what not that my bike gets.

iplante
July 20th, 2012, 12:07 PM
Thanks Stingray!
If you don't mind my asking, how much paint was in each cans? are we talking spray cans or quarts or..?

Thanks again!

Stingray1000
July 20th, 2012, 12:16 PM
Spray cans, and it was jsut normal size cans, nothing small or extra big. I got them from Home Depot and asked them specifically what would work on both plastic and metal and old paint lol. Make sure you clean the bike COMPLETELY. Dirt will make the paint lift, and if you get any drips buy a really fine grain sand paper and sand over the drips then paint again but try to make it as even as possible. Unless you're a pro you won't do it right the first time, but if you follow these instructions you'll be fine. If you get paint on the rotors or forks just use nail polish rremover poured over a paper towel but don't let it drip!!!!!

iplante
July 20th, 2012, 12:18 PM
Thanks Stingray!

iplante
July 20th, 2012, 12:30 PM
OK yet another question :roll eyes:

Do you guys think touch up paint would work if I wanted to paint the whole bike? I"d really like to have my bike match my car which is magma orange (2007 GTI Fahrenheit). That paint seems hard to find but here is touch up spray cans on eBay: