View Full Version : Bag to carry laptop

hemiman1
September 4th, 2012, 03:01 PM
Anyone have any recommendations to transport my laptop with minimal files between home and work? I don't care if it's a tank bag, rear seat bag or saddle bags, just want to get all this weight off my back during the ride.

Thank,
Brian

REDCOMET
September 4th, 2012, 03:05 PM
in addition to the previous post will a magnetic tank bag mess up a macbook pro?

bfpower
September 4th, 2012, 03:19 PM
in addition to the previous post will a magnetic tank bag mess up a macbook pro?

When I was an IT tech I used to get a lot of questions/problems related to magnets. Fact is, when a magnet moves near an electrical conductor, it can generate a current in the circuit just by moving near it. I would not trust a magnet anywhere near a laptop, whether the power is on or not. If the power is on, the magnets will interfere even worse. This includes sleep mode. Just as a rule, keep magnets away from laptops.

I use this pack: http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/ogio-sprocket-backpack It was cheap and it straps down well to become a tail bag when necessary. See my review on that page for more detailed opinion.

Kevin2109
September 4th, 2012, 03:22 PM
Here is what I use

http://www.axioluggage.com/swift_carbon_m.html

http://www.axioluggage.com/images/swift/image-9.jpg

Holds my Macbook pro 15 no problem

csmith12
September 4th, 2012, 03:24 PM
ummm... none maybe? Why not just use a usb mem stick?

REDCOMET
September 4th, 2012, 03:32 PM
When I was an IT tech I used to get a lot of questions/problems related to magnets. Fact is, when a magnet moves near an electrical conductor, it can generate a current in the circuit just by moving near it. I would not trust a magnet anywhere near a laptop, whether the power is on or not. If the power is on, the magnets will interfere even worse. This includes sleep mode. Just as a rule, keep magnets away from laptops.