View Full Version : Tall dude on a 250r. Got a question.

MrTiddles
January 7th, 2009, 07:20 PM
Well, I'm new to riding, had my 250 since August, and the one thing I've got to complain about is the fact that for a 6'1" dude, it's a bit uncomfortable to ride. The main culprit, it seems, is the peg position.

I have decided that If I could drop the pegs 1" down and 2" back, I'd be set, but I'm not sure if that's possible with the available sets.

Suggestions? Just buy a bigger bike? lol...

Alex
January 7th, 2009, 07:28 PM
Suggestions?

Ibuprofen. :D I haven't seen any of the rearsets yet available for the '08+ ninjettes, so I'm not sure if any of them would allow such a change downward and back. Upward and back, sure, but that's what they're typically made for, to give additional ground clearance. Depending on how aggressively you ride, I'm not sure how much you'd be able to lower the pegs before cutting into the ground clearance that you currently enjoy.

One option would be getting a custom seat that is significantly higher than stock. It could provide the additional space from seat to pegs that you're looking for.

A cheaper option would be to take a trip to a Kawi dealer and fold yourself onto a ZX-6R for a 15 minute stint, then get back on the ninjette and realize how much extra legroom we have on our 250's. :p

MrTiddles
January 7th, 2009, 07:33 PM
See, I occasionally have the opportunity to ride my friend's '08 GSXR600, and I find it to be a FAR more comfortable ride, as far as legs are concerned (nevermind the mega-forward lean).

I guess I can deal with it. If it really bothers me a lot, I can usually lean on the tank and put my feet on the rear pegs lol.

Eventually I'd like to get a Triumph Daytona 675, after riding for a year or two. I'll have to find one to sit on.

Alex
January 7th, 2009, 07:40 PM