View Full Version : Forum user question

Broom
February 6th, 2009, 04:04 PM
i have a question for the masses: do you use "favorite" or "subscribe" type features in communities?

for example, this site has "subscribe to this thread" under the forum tools. anyone use that stuff? if there was a quick way to "favorite" a thread, blog or item that was saved to your home page for this site or as a sidebar item, would you use that or do you use that kind of feature on other sites?

btw: this has nothing to do with this site. i'm a user interface designer and i'm trying to decide if using "favorites" in the communities i design is a worth while option. your input is appreciated guys!

thanks

kkim
February 6th, 2009, 04:08 PM
I used to subscribe to threads on other forums, so I did use that feature. I found it useful to track topics I wanted to monitor, but not post in.

On this site, every post gets saved in your "basket" in that little info bar at the top, so I don't find a need to subscribe to every thread... it's already been done for me. :p

Alex
February 6th, 2009, 04:12 PM
I always set my profile on forum sites for "auto-subscribe / instant email notification" for threads that I post in. If I posted in a thread, I want to know about the follow-ups. If I didn't post in a thread, it's rare that I will subscribe to it.

On this site, I set the default when a user signs up for that same instant email notification and auto-subscribe. I don't think many forums choose that default, as it is the most noisy on the server and potentially the most annoying for users that don't want that.

But surprisingly, I can only remember 1 user so far on ninjette.org who asked me how to turn it off. So everyone else is either happy with that setting and appreciates the email notifications & auto-subsubcribe, or they figured out how to disable it on their own.