View Full Version : Suspension Tuning SoCal

JBinSD
April 29th, 2013, 04:34 PM
I have Racetech emulators up front, and just had the proto-type Elka shock made for the rear, but not happy with the tune up. Unfortunately I'm not experienced enough to articulate the bike's feedback to make it stable in turns at high speed, ie rebound, compression, rake and travel. I lowered the forks on the triples a bit, as it felt like it was riding high and pushing out, especially in the bowl at Chuck.

anyone have a rec for a So Cal tuner in San Diego or parts nearby? I don't think I'm communicating well with Tige at CM, and maybe another mind might help. . .

thanx,
Joel

ahamay
April 29th, 2013, 07:04 PM
The only shop I can think of off the top of my head is Lee's Cycle shop. Never actually been to their shop and cannot comment on their work. I've heard mixed reviews from friends. Some swear by the shop and love the guys there and some have told me to avoid them like the plague.

Why not just sign up for a day with socaltrackdays and play with it? Take a note book out and record your work.

Trailerboy531
April 29th, 2013, 07:25 PM
You'll find that many people seem to think they aren't communicating well with Tige...

I've heard great things about Dave Moss but he typically works up in Nor Cal. He does do Let's Ride track days at Buttonwillow though. I was thinking about doing a track day there to have him dial my suspension in (obviously pre-bike-destroying-last-round)

JBinSD
April 30th, 2013, 10:49 AM
Yeah, after dropping quite a bit of cash into a certain pocket, its frustrating not to have the support to get it dialed in. Admittedly, I didn't push for much attention, but the 250/300 crowd doesn't get much action compared to the rest of the bikes CM races. . .

tooblekain
April 30th, 2013, 11:09 AM
There are a few options....

Sean at Trackoholics in Oceanside can help you tune. He sometimes is at CVMA events.