View Full Version : extend or not extend the knee?

Cali619
February 24th, 2009, 10:05 AM
Hi,

Im new to riding(will be a year this may) and have read both the twist of the wrist books. I practice on the twisties here in San Diego and was wondering about extending the knee when not having any pucks.
I have been keeping the knee tucked in when hanging off the bike and being sure not to cross up my body, but does anyone still extend the knee but obviously not drag it without the pucks? I am curious as to how much extending the knee will affect the speed you can take the turn without actually dragging it.

P.S.

Anyone interested in very very cheap way to get TotW 1 and 2 PM me.

Alex
February 24th, 2009, 11:29 AM
I don't think it matters much one way or the other, though I agree that without pucks hanging the knee too low is a potential hazard if it happens to smack something on the road harder than expected. Correct body position on track involves moving a significant portion of your body weight to the inside of the bike. The largest reason for this (though there are several) is to alter the overall weight distribution for the bike/rider combination, which allows the bike itself to be leaned over less at a given corner speed. On a racetrack when truly approaching the cornering limits, correct body position becomes more and more necessary as the bike gets closer to its limit of cornering clearance (for pegs, exhaust, bodywork, tire capabilities themselves, all depending on the particular bike).