View Full Version : Wanting to Tackle Canyons!

ARc
March 2nd, 2009, 05:41 PM
I've been riding for about 2 months now, and was wondering what kind of advice you have for a newb that want to try out canyon riding. What kinds of things did you notice that the 250 liked to do? Are there any things that I have to be on the look out for when I ride? When are the best times to go?

Those are the questions that have been floating around in my mind. If you have any other tips that are relevant, please post!

Thanks ;D

aloh
March 2nd, 2009, 06:04 PM
In for some tips as well....

noche_caliente
March 2nd, 2009, 06:21 PM
The biggest tip I can give, and that's coming from someone who lives in the mountains and only has the twisties to ride on if I want to stay out of traffic - is to wait until you are absolutely comfortable, ride your own ride, and keep your cool. It can be intimidating when you look over and see the sheer drop off the side...
I would also advise waiting a few more months until you know there won't be any snow/ice/sand/gravel left over from winter weather. Riding the roads a few times in your car beforehand so that you are familiar with the curves and any potential trouble spots will also make it a much safer experience for you.

Again, this is all coming from an inexperienced rider as well, but I do have over 20 years of seat time with my dad - I just wasn't in control - then again, he's the only one who can be when you're with him ;)

BlueTyke
March 2nd, 2009, 06:35 PM
Ride your own ride. Stay within your comfort.

Also see if someone in the area wants to go with you. I know I feel more comfortable with someone else with me when I am doing something new like that.

Beast
March 2nd, 2009, 07:13 PM
Aloh, ARc...I will give you plenty of tips :) First and foremost, please read this excerpt from a previous thread with some other members who had questions about riding the canyons:

OLD POST: