View Full Version : Setting the Preload

sm0kediver
March 9th, 2009, 08:26 AM
I've never adjusted the preload on a rear shock. Looks easy enough in the manual. My owners manual says that it is preset to a 1 from the factory for a 150 lb rider, and higher setting are for heavier loads.

I weigh 205. What's the best setting?

What will changing the setting actually do?

Realirony
March 9th, 2009, 09:33 AM
hangin here to see the answer. im curious as well.

islanderman7
March 9th, 2009, 09:55 AM
Well I am not an expert but I think the answer is subjective; based off of what you like. I am 5'10" and weigh 175-180 Lbs and I like my preload set to the 3rd position.

sm0kediver
March 9th, 2009, 10:01 AM
What does it actually do? Limit the range of travel? Pre compression? I guess I'll figure it out when I put a wrench on it.

Alex
March 9th, 2009, 10:02 AM
There's the "in a perfect world" answer, and then there's the "when it comes to our ninjettes" answer. I'll try and give both as concisely as feasible. :D

Preload on motorcycle shock is primarily used to set the sag. Sag is the drop in height of the suspension from unloaded to loaded. (I.E. rider not on bike, compared to rider on bike). Correct sag is important so the suspension is working within its comfort zone as much as possible, and the bike should be kept level front to rear (or if not exactly level, at the expected or chosen angle, rather than at an unintended angle due to suspension issues). In general, recommended sag is somewhere between 1/3 - 1/4 of the full travel of the suspension, so usually somewhere between 1 and 1.5 inches. You really need a helper to set it up correctly, who can help you measure the differences from loaded to unloaded. Once preload is set, then you start working on the other adjustments (compression damping and rebound damping) so the shock works as expected over a variety of conditions.