View Full Version : Staying Alive

Verus Cidere
March 13th, 2009, 10:56 PM
Hey guys. If you've seen any posts I've had recently, you know I'm a motorcycling noob! I've only been riding for about 6 months, and I've put about 3500 miles on my baby, Fury.

I've known for a while that there are a whole lot of things that are dangerous about motorcycling, which is part of the fun. It can also be a bad thing obviously, so I'm wondering: For us noobs that flock to this site, what are good procedures to stay out of the way of the idiots in diesels that either don't see you or don't give a crap? What are good following distances? What are good ways to keep yourself out of major problems in heavy traffic?

I ask this because there've been 2 bikers at my high school who've been in accidents recently that weren't their fault at all. One was leaving the parking lot after school and got plowed over by an idiot who ran a red light. He got pretty badly beat up (partially because he didn't have his helmet on right and it went flying). The other got cut off really close in the same basic situation, but allready on the road. His hands/arms are covered in road rash. Both bikes are totalled. I don't wanna end up being scraped up off of the pavement, so I need some ideas from people who've been doing this longer. What do you suggest?

Sound Wave
March 13th, 2009, 11:01 PM
http://www.daytonamotorcycletraining.com/motorcycle-near-18-wheeler.htm

Sound Wave
March 13th, 2009, 11:21 PM
oh.... here is the hawaii state motorcycle manual. it has all the info you asked about. it is on page 12-20 in the manual. pdf page 29-37

click here (http://www.state.hi.us/dot/highways/hwy-v/mom-1.pdf)

michael, do you have your license? did you take the msf course? just curious, because this is stuff they teach in the msf course and stuff you need to know to pass the written portion of the license... in hawaii anyways.