View Full Version : New rider: Pls critque my gear!!

ARF07
March 17th, 2009, 02:52 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to riding and as well as this Forum. I've tried some of the gear out, and I like it, but I'd like to hear for those who have ridden in it and what to expect, so here it goes:

I've got a Shark RSI Skylon helmet, A* SM-X vented riding boots, A* TR-C Airflow textile jacket, A* SP-1 gloves..

I'm still looking for a nice pair of textile pants I could wear to class, but since I'm in GA, could also have good airflow in 90+ degree summers. Thanks!

kkim
March 17th, 2009, 03:02 PM
Nathan,

have you seen this post for some ideas?

http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=9694

ARF07
March 17th, 2009, 03:18 PM
Thanks, I hadn't seen that, but I got some good ideas for some pants off there..It's good to see I'm not the only one riding with the A* boots, but I didn't see anyone else with the same gear, so I'll cross my fingers I got decent stuff.

Broom
March 17th, 2009, 03:48 PM
sounds like some decent stuff you've picked out.

i didn't look up those gloves, but its very important that your gloves have a wrist closure system/strap. the last thing you want is your gloves coming off when you're sliding down the road. put them on and see if you can pull them off without un-doing the strap.

i know some of those alpinestarts gloves don't have the wrist strap for some reason.

you're going to love those boots.

ARF07
March 17th, 2009, 04:09 PM
I appreciate the feedback. The gloves are their entry level racing gloves but mostly considered top tier street gloves (per Captain Muscles of Sportbike Track Gear) and they're double velcro gauntlet gloves. The boots are going to take getting used to since they're nothing like the sneakers I'm used to.

ARc
March 17th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Full face helmet? :thumbup:
Jacket w/ Armor? :thumbup:
Back Protector? :confused:
Gauntlets? :thumbup:
Riding Pants? :confused:
Boots?:thumbup: