View Full Version : Total newb helmet question

ARF07
March 18th, 2009, 12:03 PM
I feel like I shouldn't even be asking this, but I will anyways. Ok so I got my helmet in the mail today, and this was was actually big enough to get my head into..so when I strapped it up it felt fine, but when I started moving my head around I could feel the chin strap on my neck..

..unnecessarily long story short, apparently I have a large enough sized adam's apple that when I look down my chin strap pushes down on it..I could live with it, but it's still annoying..does anyone else have this problem/solution?

If not, hopefully you at least had a laugh at my expense :D

Cali619
March 18th, 2009, 12:08 PM
Ive had only 2 helmets but neither of them gave me this issue.

OldGuy
March 18th, 2009, 12:11 PM
Nathan - hard question to answer without seeing you in the helmet and being able to reach out and check the fit.

The strap is there to keep the bucket on the head if it is every put to use. Therefore it needs to be tight enough to not let the helmet come off - either forward or backwards. That is why one of the fit test is trying to rotate the helmet off both forwards and backwards. When doing that the strap will most likely push on your throat somewhere.

When you say it rubs when you look down are you talking about when you look at your toes or when looking at your dash? What is it like in the normal riding position and side-to-side movement?

ARF07
March 18th, 2009, 12:41 PM
Thanks Don, I know it's hard to tell w/o seeing it..I put it back on and tightened the straps up..The last size of this I got I could barely squeeze my head into..this one feels better, but I don't really have much to compare it to. When I shake my head from side to side my head doesn't slide around inside.