View Full Version : Odd noise, probably me being paranoid

Realirony
March 24th, 2009, 06:12 AM
I didnt know exactly where to post a question such as this so I'll leave it here. Over the past few days I've noticed that after riding for awhile (maybe 20miles or more) that an almost high pitch whine/whistle seems to come from my tank and tappers off after a few seconds (this noise happens when I come to a stop and idle). It almost sounds like air escaping the tank but its loud/pitched enough that I can make it out through my full-face and engine idle. Is this a normal occurance and I'm just being paranoid or could there possibly be something wrong?

Just as some fyi that may contribute, its been around 50-70 degrees here lately, I ride around the city through stop and go traffic, and this noise seems most active a few minutes after I fuel up. I'm probably just being over cautious of my bike. But I'm new to all sorts of noises and happenings of bikes and would like a 2nd opinion.

thanks for any help you all can provide. d=('-')z

Buffalony
March 24th, 2009, 06:52 AM
Are you serious?

Buffalony
March 24th, 2009, 06:56 AM
Ok sorry. Yes it is normal. it can be fixed with a modification that isn't worth it unless it really really bothers you. Where is kkim with those links?:D

No really though. Do a search here and if you don't find something here I'm pretty sure the info/ mod is over at kawiforums.

sugarbear
March 24th, 2009, 06:56 AM
That sounds a bit like the famous "Kawasaki tea kettle" :D Nothing to worry about. Apparently it is air escaping from your gas cap. (Seriously, they all do that!) My Ninja talks to me all the time. I think it's adorable...

Buffalony
March 24th, 2009, 07:01 AM
That sounds a bit like the famous "Kawasaki tea kettle" :D Nothing to worry about. Apparently it is air escaping from your gas cap. (Seriously, they all do that!) My Ninja talks to me all the time. I think it's adorable...