View Full Version : Bleeding Brakes. Possible air in my system?

Ken
March 24th, 2009, 06:22 PM
I decided to bleed my front brake after the Woodcraft Clip-ons installation. I've done it on cars dozens of times however this is my first time doing it on a motorcycle.

I' did the following: Hold the brake lever down, crack open the brake bleeder, then tighten the bleeder while the brake is still applied, then release. During this whole time I always make sure the reservoir is always full to prevent air getting sucked into the system.

After I sealed everything up I noticed bubbles weeping out of of the master cylinder cap. Below is a vid:

http://i541.photobucket.com/albums/gg393/kawiken/Ninja%20250R/th_DSCF0918.jpg (http://s541.photobucket.com/albums/gg393/kawiken/Ninja%20250R/?action=view&current=DSCF0918.flv)

Is there air in the system? Did I overfill or underfill the reservoir?

When I apply the lever it feels firm like before.

When I apply the brake lever as hard as possible I can get the lever to touch the grip. Can someone try it on their bike and let me know if it's normal? I didn't do it beforehand so I don't have a baseline. Thanks for any advice.

kkim
March 24th, 2009, 06:30 PM
bubbles don't seem right. is there a gasket under that cover? if so, maybe the gasket wasn't put back on correctly?

on the other hand, when i did my clip on install and moved the brake res out of the way, I did get some weeping out of that little hole. i don't get any when it's fully mounted and I squeeze the lever, though.

Ken
March 24th, 2009, 06:33 PM
Yes,

The gasket is stuck underneath the lid. I wiped everything clean of debris (the gasket, the mating surface) before I screwed the cap down.

kkim
March 24th, 2009, 06:37 PM
I'll take a look at mine after I get home from work in about an hour or so.

Like you said, maybe an overfill (if that's possible). can you see any air at all when you look in the reservoir sight glass?

Ken
March 24th, 2009, 06:56 PM