View Full Version : mp3 player on bike?

lilninja
March 27th, 2009, 06:49 PM
I'm new to owning a motorcycle. I was wondering if anyone had a mp3 player on their bike. and if so how do you listen to it, with speakers or something in your helmet? Sorry for the newie question and thanks for any help.

TnNinjaGirl
March 27th, 2009, 06:55 PM
I use an MP3 player with some Skull Candy in ear headphones. All shoved inside my helmet. It all works just fine. It has a little slide switch on it where I can turn the volume up and down. I just put it on shuffle and stick it in my jacket. The volume is set pretty low because it blocks all the other sounds out. Seems to cut down on wind noise and exhaust drone. It's hard to hear your friends at a stop light, but that's what the volume switch is for.

Alex
March 27th, 2009, 06:55 PM
Hi Lisa -

I don't listen to music on the ninjette, but I've got an ipod on another bike. The simplest way is to use in-ear headphones. The ones that seal do a reasonable job of hearing protection from the wind, as well as allow decent music fidelity. Some recommended ones are the Etymotic ER6i's. I own a pair of those, but don't find them particularly comfortable under the helmet; it's really a preference thing that works for some folks and not others.

Another way to do it is with helmet speakers, and that's what I use on my BMW. I run the iPod, GPS, radar, and rider/passenger communication to an electronic gadget from Autocom under the seat that combines them together, and then a single cable goes to the helmet. With it I can make/receive cell calls, as well as hear all of the gadgets. Works great, and isn't as expensive as might be assumed, if you want to end up running more than just music on a bike.

TnNinjaGirl
March 27th, 2009, 06:59 PM
:) some of us prefer not to be reached when on our bikes. An interesting product though, link perhaps?

Alex
March 27th, 2009, 07:04 PM