View Full Version : Some after-hibernation questions. . .

Han Solo 1
January 22nd, 2014, 10:47 AM
Hi everyone,

This is my first post but I've been reading for a long time and love this forum.

So I bought a 2008 Ninja 250 last summer and commuted to work (round trip of 20 miles) until mid-October, then drove the car. Since mid-October, I started the bike a few times and let it run, and thankfully the battery didn't die. I started riding this week to work again and will be riding whenever the weather is decent until I start up full-time again in the spring.

Anyway, just a couple of questions:

1. I start the bike on full throttle and let it run for a good 10 minutes while I finish getting ready for work. Then I throttle it down and go. Is this healthy for the bike?

2. I have stock IRC tires on at the moment and am going to be getting some new ones in the next couple of weeks (these suck on even the faintest amount of sand/gravel, which there is a lot of here in New Mexico, and not very good on rain. They feel squirrely.)

I'm thinking of going with Shinko Podiums or the slightly more expensive Pirrelli Diablo II's. My riding is mainly commuting and running errands, although I'd like to do some mountain twisties this summer. What would you guys recommend?

3. Reading through the forums, I see some references to "rubbing off" the tires after mounting them. I gather that this means I have to kind of break them in for a while before I do any serious twisties, etc. But how exactly do you break them in without being terrified you're going to go into a car or guardrail on a simple left turn at the light? Is there a way to rub off the shine manually without having to ride it out?