View Full Version : Dropped my bike today

ARF07
May 4th, 2009, 02:45 PM
Pretty upset as I'm sure you can call imagine. I'm just not sure what I did wrong. I was coming to a stop, shifting down then when I was almost at a complete stop over it went and I couldn't stop it. The only thing I can think of is that I used the front break instead of the rear...I'm still a total newbie, so any suggestions as to what I can do to avoid this next time, or what I might have done wrong?? Oh, and one last question..when it went over, I saw some liquid come out of the bottom. What was that and do I need to check any levels? Thanks in advance

On the plus side, that even though it hit the street, there wasn't a single scratch on the fairings...A small one on the shifter peg, but thats it...:D

zail
May 4th, 2009, 02:48 PM
Know how you feel - dropped mine yesterday doing a u-turn in a car park... only mark is on my gear shift and on the crash protector... not sure about the liquid - mine didn't leak anything... main thing is you and the bike are both ok :)

noche_caliente
May 4th, 2009, 02:52 PM
Sorry to hear about the drop Nathan. Are you ok aside from the injury to your pride?

ARF07
May 4th, 2009, 02:56 PM
Thanks Kim, yea I'm ok. I didn't fall off the bike, I kinda came off it/tried to hold it up as it was going down..Zail: glad you ride is ok too!..At first I was really mad, then I saw the liquid spill and was like uuuhh wtf?? so hopefully that was nothing

Snake
May 4th, 2009, 03:35 PM
Sorry to hear that Nathan. If you had the handle bar turned as you applied the front brake that could have made you go down. Yes be sure and check the fluids to be sure all is well.

kkim
May 4th, 2009, 03:38 PM
liquid was most likely coolant. check the level in the coolant reservoir on the right side of the bike.

ARF07
May 4th, 2009, 03:50 PM