View Full Version : Safe Helmet removal in a crash

Sailariel
June 3rd, 2009, 07:12 PM
Maybe Alex or Broom can answer this. The new helmets--particularly the full face kind, are difficult, to say the least, to remove. In a crash, my biggest fear would be for some well meaning bystander to try to remove my helmet following a crash. One`s neck could be easily broken if this procedure was performed by an inexperienced well meaning individual. Is there some sort of device that could be fitted to a helmet that would not cause further injury? I was told that in professional racing there is some sort of device one can inflate with a bulb similar to the one used in a blood pressure cuff that can be inflated thereby removing the helmet without causing injury. Is this device available to the average road rider? I would surely like some information on this device.

blantow
June 3rd, 2009, 07:36 PM
im a paramedic in IL. as a practice we will only remove full face helmets when we must for airway management for that exact reason. the best way to ensure spinal stabilization is to keep the spine in alignment in the exact position injured. obviously what bystanders do before we get there is out of our control but from my experience they are usually so freaked they call 911 and freak out, they usually dont attempt to even touch the patient.

Snake
June 3rd, 2009, 07:38 PM
In my opinion you need to concentrate on the best way to avoid an accident by riding defensively.

Sound Wave
June 3rd, 2009, 08:56 PM
man, even if there were a device, i think it would be a horrible idea to have someone with no medical background to try and remove the helmet in the event of an accident. the victim shouldn't even be moved unless he is in immediate danger by being where he is, ie vehicle on fire.

best to leave some stuff to the professionals.

CANTFUNCTION
June 3rd, 2009, 09:01 PM
:whathesaid:

Alex
June 3rd, 2009, 10:00 PM