View Full Version : Frame sliders: Which to pick?

Talonne
July 29th, 2009, 11:31 AM
Before you guys throw links at me, I HAVE indeed read the wiki on frame sliders. :)

I am stumped as to which I should pick because of the following reasons:

1. I have zero mechanical skill/knowledge, so while Shogun seems to be the absolute best protection, I would probably wreck my bike (or my hands) during the install process.

2. I anticipate that my drops will be at low or no speed (mostly no), so would the Intuitives suffice, or is it always best to prepare for the worst? In which case, see point #1.

3. I live in Canada, so shipping costs and brokerage (if the vendor uses UPS or Fedex) come into play. Brokerage is INSANE -- I've paid $120 extra for a $300 package before. If any Canucks would be able to recommend a vendor that does not use a courier for shipping, it would be splendid.

sofo
July 29th, 2009, 12:01 PM
The Shogun sliders seem to be the most popular due to their design and easy install. There is a DIY here on the forum that walks through it. I plan to put these on my bike soon.

Talonne
July 29th, 2009, 12:23 PM
EASY install? I looked through some install instructions (http://www.moto911.com/pdf/750-4119.pdf?osCsid=12cb4c73fc35484186399293364769b3) and was utterly lost, actually. I'm not kidding when I say I have no mechanical aptitude.

kkim
July 29th, 2009, 12:24 PM
so, what are your plans to get it installed once you buy it?

Talonne
July 29th, 2009, 12:26 PM
I either have to take the easier route and do Intuitive or Sato sliders, or I guess I will need to pay someone to install Shogun.

sofo
July 29th, 2009, 12:31 PM
You might want to consider the Shogun crash kit and order from Bayside Performance (http://www.baysideperformance.ca/). The shipping you save might offset the cost of having someone install them for you if you are unsure about doing it yourself.