View Full Version : Full Face Helmets- Why Are These Better To Have On Sport Bikes ?

RedNinja09
August 2nd, 2009, 07:14 PM
Hey,

I am new to riding and sport bikes. I noticed almost everyone on a sport bike has a full face on. I know full face it the best protection wise but are there other reasons why everyone wears this type of helmet ?

I borrowed a friend of mine's full face and the wind noise was reduced by ALOT. But, I couldnt really hear anything else. I am still learning to shift and I need to hear my bike at this point in my new riding career. Any other reasons why a full face is the helmet of choice for sport bikes ?

Thanks,

Red

Cedilla
August 2nd, 2009, 07:23 PM
I guess you could say it is part of the style, the same reason you don't see anyone wearing a race suit with knee pucks on a cruiser, or the reason you don't see anyone wearing chaps on a sportbike. Also if you have problems hearing the bike with a full face helmet it wont be any better with an open face or half helmet, try wearing earplugs, they cut down on wind noise alot and you can hear the bike a little better.

minuslars
August 2nd, 2009, 07:45 PM
I forget the webpage I read this on, but 45% of the most commonly hit areas of the head during a motorcycle crash are protected *only* by a full face helmet. Something to keep in mind!

travis5018
August 2nd, 2009, 07:51 PM
Because people on sport bikes want to die less then others......

RedNinja09
August 2nd, 2009, 07:59 PM
I personally liked the full face a little bit better than my 3/4 helmet. It was kinda of hot and the windsheild kept fogging up. I dont know, I am just curious as to what other advantages to that particular helmet has to sport bikes.

Nickds7
August 2nd, 2009, 08:00 PM
I'm still not sure why we choose to wear full face helmets.

P1NDLESK1N
August 2nd, 2009, 09:41 PM
http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=11685&highlight=kkim+bugs+helmet

AnarchoMoltov
August 2nd, 2009, 10:16 PM
:whathesaid: