View Full Version : How much are you paying for Insurance?

Pages : [1] 2 3

Countrygirl
February 8th, 2009, 06:20 PM
I just got confirmation that my Kawi dealer was able to find me a 2009 Red Ninja. I'm soooooo excited I've been waiting for one since last spring. Now I get to meet my baby this Friday. I'm so uber pumped!

However, I'm trying to figure out the insurance end of it.

What do you guys have, how much does it cost and who insures you? How much is it suppose to cost? I live in Alberta Canada, I called my insurance provider for a quote and I'm shocked at the numbers she returned with.

I have to pay $956 for 1,000,000 liability, collision, fire, vandalism and theft for a year.
It will cost me $750 for liability, fire and theft for a year.
It costs $528 liability, fire and theft for a year.
It costs $266 for liability only for a year.

I have a good driving record and she said that just because I'm new to owning a bike doesn't make a difference. I told her it's only a 250R and it won't have as much speed as a 600 or 1000, but she said it didn't matter.

What kind of coverage should I get? What other companies insure bikes for a reasonable price?

noche_caliente
February 8th, 2009, 06:35 PM
State farm usually has some of the better rates - I'm married which helps, and have a clean record - I have full coverage for $170/yr - we also have two houses and two cars through them - but really compared to some of the other quotes I've heard, your 1k figure doesn't sound too bad

GreezMunky
February 8th, 2009, 06:42 PM
lol, I'm 20, married, with a house and no accidents/tickets on my record. Geico wanted 3k a year for me! Thats full coverage though. I've heard State Farm (right now I am not a very big fan of SF whatsoever though :mad: ) is usually the best for motorcyclists, but there is a company here in town, Diaryland, that was the cheapest by far. A little over a grand a year I think? Not sure, I'd have to go back and check it out.