View Full Version : Been a while

Sipper'
March 11th, 2016, 01:52 PM
since I've been on the board, everyone I rode here with has quit riding, losers!

But seriously, I've been riding since 1974 and riding IS who I am.

Took me a while to find a Muzzy for my pre-gen and found a good one but was not wanting to use the Muzzy muffler. So I came up with the idea that the late model GSXR750 canister was titanium, had plenty of flow capability and should be fairly quiet even connected to the Muzzy headpipe. I WAS RIGHT!

The GSXR can IS quieter than the Muzzle, but louder than stock, is a little raspy and sounds totally bitchin' at anything over idle!

The Muzzy has a deeper tone at idle but starts sounding puny when revving it.
The GSXR can sounds like a much bigger, very mean motorcycle!

The GSXR exhaust pulse is also quit a bit stronger than the Muzzy.

Have not dyno'd either, but will with the GSXR can. It is the one that will be on the bike and will be jetted for when complete.

The GSXR canister new from Suzuki is something on the order of stupid at >$1300 but can be had off ebay for a paltry $56 that I paid for mine...

REALLY looking forward to having it all completed with a centerstand/airbox delete, single pod, factory pro jet kit.

Fell in love with another 2 wheeler lately, my Merlin road bicycle.
6 months and 1800 miles into my 'cycling career' so far.

Alex
March 11th, 2016, 05:39 PM
Welcome back! :thumbup: The GSXR cannisters are pretty much flow-through, aren't they? I thought the last gen or two of them had much of the actual "muffler" hidden underneath the bike.

csmith12
March 11th, 2016, 05:44 PM
Welcome back! :thumbup: The GSXR cannisters are pretty much flow-through, aren't they? I thought the last gen or two of them had much of the actual "muffler" hidden underneath the bike.