View Full Version : What will make me a better rider?

dive1tom
August 13th, 2009, 06:27 AM
I've done the MSF course.

Riding back roads with lots curves?

Freeway?

Racetracks?

Seems like I have read every motorcycle safety article out there. I have 3000 miles on my 2009 Ninja that I bought in May. Does putting allot of miles on your bike account for so call "years" of experience?

DarkNinja52
August 13th, 2009, 06:42 AM
I'm still new at this, but from what I hear, people that have been riding for yearrrs, are still learning new things everytime they take the bike out. Keep doing what your doing, maybe take the Advanced Course the MSF offers. But I think as long as you keep riding, you'll continually learn and get better. And although miles on your bike helps the learning process, so does time, and IMO miles <> time. Just my two cents :)

adouglas
August 13th, 2009, 06:59 AM
My $0.02:

Riding is a skill, and like any skilled activity you can just "phone it in" and engage in it without actually working on it, or you can make a concentrated effort to improve yourself.

Every ride is an opportunity to work on your skills, no matter what they are. Whether it's:

Practicing better accident-avoidance procedures (actively engaging in the "what if" game, improving your situational awareness, paying real attention to placement on the road relative to traffic, etc. etc.)
Practicing emergency skills (panic stops, swerves, etc. etc.)
Improving riding skills (smoother application of power and brakes, line selection, slow in/fast out, low-speed maneuvering [love those U-turns!]etc. etc.)
Fine-tuning your body position
Or anything else you can think of...

... there's always a chance to learn something. Always.

You can get as deep into this as you like. It is entirely possible to occupy your brain full-time with practicing/drilling yourself and trying to improve while you ride, and come out at the end of the day thoroughly exhausted (and with a deep sense of satisfaction).