View Full Version : New Kaw 250 Rider, Few Questions about bike maint

TreyE
August 18th, 2009, 03:13 PM
Hi all, I am a new rider and am 20 years old. I recently completed the MSC and bought a 2001 Kawasaki Ninja 250 with 8k miles. I love the bike it is tons of fun. I do however have a few questions about it as I am new to motorcycles.

When braking I get a slight ABS type of feel (like when you apply high brake pressure in a car and it kind of brakes, doesnt brake, brakes, doesnt brake). Is this normal or am I in need of new brakes?

When downshifting to 1st gear my bike makes a rather loud sound, louder than when downshifting to any other gear (almost grinding but not so bad as to be like wow somethings definitely wrong). Anything fishy there?

My last question is about the choke. When I apply the choke and let it sit for a while warming up (aprox. 2 minutes) the bike will start Revving up to like 6k rpm before I take the choke off and it returns to normal. Whats going on here?

Sorry for all the questions looking forward to learning more about biking in general and the kaw 250. Thanks
Trey

kkim
August 18th, 2009, 03:41 PM
Hi all, I am a new rider and am 20 years old. I recently completed the MSC and bought a 2001 Kawasaki Ninja 250 with 8k miles. I love the bike it is tons of fun. I do however have a few questions about it as I am new to motorcycles.

When braking I get a slight ABS type of feel (like when you apply high brake pressure in a car and it kind of brakes, doesnt brake, brakes, doesnt brake). Is this normal or am I in need of new brakes?
warped rotor

When downshifting to 1st gear my bike makes a rather loud sound, louder than when downshifting to any other gear (almost grinding but not so bad as to be like wow somethings definitely wrong). Anything fishy there?
sounds normal, but it really depends how loud the noise is. is it like a "clunk"? if so, normal.