View Full Version : The dangers of polyester protective gear

dimeified
August 20th, 2009, 06:55 AM
I did a search and didn't really find anything on this forum on the topic, but i think it should be discussed and possibly a sticky because newer riders who are uninformed may buy gear that isn't in their best interest. There are several sources out there speaking on the dangers of riding with protective gear made from polyester. Supposedly once the material heats up, it can bond and fuse itself to any surface, namely your skin, which has you in the ER, doctors peeling polyester skin sheets off your muscles, and receiving skin grafts instead of walking away from the scene of the accident unharmed. I am by no means an expert on this topic, but some of you are, and i would like you to post in here your thoughts of what brands and materials to select or to stay away from. I just noticed my mesh jacket is 100% polyester, i wish i had known about this before i bought it so i could have saved my money. Thoughts...

bob706
August 20th, 2009, 07:15 AM
Polyester jacket = better than nothing. I would think that you would have to slide across a pretty good length of pavement for that stuff to melt to your skin. I personally like my leather jacket over my mesh jacket even though it can get uncomfortably warm at stop lights.

SteveL
August 20th, 2009, 07:37 AM
Polyester only becomes a problem in a fire when like other man made fabrics melts; I don’t see how it’s an issue on a bike.

Steve

Greg_E
August 20th, 2009, 07:55 AM
How many racing suits are made out of polyester?

SF-Dug
August 20th, 2009, 08:19 AM
How many racing suits are made out of polyester?

None that I know of but I maybe wrong.

High quality racing suits are made out of leather because it provides the best protection against abrasion especially when you are barreling down a straightaway at 120+ miles an hour.