View Full Version : A couple newbie questions

Snoman13
September 16th, 2009, 10:28 AM
These questions seem like ones where there's lots of info out there, but I think I may be getting confused seeing as there's always conflicting opinions.

First of all, after ~1000 KM's (600 miles) is it alright to switch over to full synth for the first oil change? Bought the bike second hand and I'm doubting that it was changed at all so I wanted to do it asap.

Second, when riding along lets say in 3rd or 4th gear and then I start coming up to a stop. Is it harmful at all to roll off the throttle then pull the clutch in and coast to a stop with the brakes and downshift just while coasting or do riders need to go through the entire downshifting process every stop?

I'm still very new to riding, but it seems like if I was in 4th or something then needed to stop, that the whole process to downshift to first completely takes a pretty long time and also doesn't necessarily activate the brake lights since you're slowing down already by downshifting/engine braking.

Thanks in advance for your help and sorry about the questions that I'm sure you've answered a million times already.

Anthony_marr
September 16th, 2009, 11:26 AM
These questions seem like ones where there's lots of info out there, but I think I may be getting confused seeing as there's always conflicting opinions.

First of all, after ~1000 KM's (600 miles) is it alright to switch over to full synth for the first oil change? Bought the bike second hand and I'm doubting that it was changed at all so I wanted to do it asap.

Second, when riding along lets say in 3rd or 4th gear and then I start coming up to a stop. Is it harmful at all to roll off the throttle then pull the clutch in and coast to a stop with the brakes and downshift just while coasting or do riders need to go through the entire downshifting process every stop?