View Full Version : Looking for a Riding Mentor?

untdavid
September 23rd, 2009, 11:23 PM
Sorry if this is in the wrong section. I didn't know if I should have posted this in the Group Riding forum or in General Discussion.

Anyway, I'm a noob to motorcycling. I was wondering if someone in Dallas, Tx would like to show me the ropes when it comes to proper riding technique and maintaining my bike. I completed my MSF a few weeks ago. I practice in the empty parking lots with the practice guide my MSF instructor gave me, but I still have so many questions. I plan on purchasing books recommended by forum members and I've relied on this forum for many of my unanswered questions, but I'm hoping someone might ride with me to critique me. Maybe there are questions I haven't thought of yet? :confused:

Also, I'm not really mechanically inclined :o, though I consider myself a fast learner. I'm a very hands on learner, but lack confidence to really touch anything on the bike for fear of ruining something. How should I start?

Thanks,
David

emt250
September 24th, 2009, 02:15 AM
As far as where to start with the mechanical aspect of it, I would buy the service/repair manual for your bike and take a flip through it. Something like a chiltons or haynes for a car. Like this...

http://www.repairmanual.com/catalog/H2053

http://www.repairmanual.com/catalog/99924-1066-01

I don't know if those are the best, but I'm sure someone here can give you an exact link to what you're looking for. Just make sure you have the correct one for the correct year of your bike.

Best of luck finding someone in your area who can "show you the ropes"! I would, but i live in the wrong area and im a complete newb as well.

Apex
September 24th, 2009, 10:08 AM
Dallas? Isn't Broom near him? I can't think of a better person to learn from. :)

Ken
September 24th, 2009, 10:13 AM
Dallas? Isn't Broom near him? I can't think of a better person to learn from. :)

broom's injured: