View Full Version : First and hopefully last crash

tiburonsita
October 27th, 2009, 08:51 AM
The day was colder than I wanted it to be but it was only going to get warmer since we started at 8:30am. Anyways, we got to the entrance of Blood Mountain where my accident happened. I'm still not super familiar with the road until I'm on it then I remember parts of the road but I don't have the twisties memorized like some of them do. Riding along and the first part of the pack takes off fast, the end is going fast but not crazy fast... that's where I'm at. There were 4 of us. Then about half way there is a long stretched road and I advance a little and passed two of the guys but what I wanted to do was pass the two cars that were next to us. I saw a curve coming up (one of the 2 most difficult in that route) and I did not want to take it with a car next to me. It was a two-lane area and although I've done well on them I'm not an expert and I prefer to remove all possibilities from the negative equation :)) If I took the curve too wide I didn't want to hit the car... and in this instance... if I hadn't made that move I could have landed under the pickup truck.

I'm still not sure what went wrong besides feeling the bike slip away from me. When I started taking the curve it was all good then I felt my knee touch the ground - I knew I was really low cause I've never touched knee - but just seconds later the bike started grinding and immediately took off without me :)) I also got new tires the week before that I hadn't entirely broken into any curves but I had ridden them already for about 200 miles so not sure if they could still have been the issue though it was my first inclination. I may have just been going to fast for the curve and leaning too much but I don't know for sure. It felt natural and was a total surprise when the bike just slipped away.