View Full Version : Fast blinking turn signal

austexjg
December 30th, 2009, 02:45 PM
'01 - The right side blinker flashes really fast, the left side is normal. Both the front and the rear lights are operating (they work/blink), but the right side flashes fast as if a light is out, but it's not.
The mods - smoked rear taillight and signals (bought off ebay) that were a complete component, and just added Asian Cycle flush front signals. The bike also has a blue LED kit (previous owner).
The first flash is at normal speed, but the second one starts flashing quickly.

Any ideas?

Verus Cidere
December 30th, 2009, 03:11 PM
Check the wiring and the bulbs. I heard somewhere that the faster flashing happens when it's about to go out as well to give you a sort of a warning. Don't quote me on that because I'm not sure, but I heard it somewhere. Also, if it's not very well connected, it might be fooling it into thinking it's not connected because there's so little connection. I'm no expert though, and those are the only possibilities I could think of. Good luck figuring it out. :D

komohana
December 30th, 2009, 04:16 PM
i've heard a number of problems that could cause this.

it may be an indication that the flasher may be going out.
(don't know where this is on our bikes, or if something similar)

i'd recheck that the bulbs are not loose, sockets for corrosion and wiring connections.

also heard different rated bulbs can do this but dunno bout that.

if it worked fine till yer last mod...start hunting there.
good luck

austexjg
December 30th, 2009, 04:32 PM
Well the bike came with no front blinkers - it may have started when the rear was replaced, but unsure because the fronts were out and I don't remember the flasher going fast on the console when I used the blinkers before adding the new front flush mount signals.
Guess I have some wire hunting to do for loose connections, but I don't think there are any? What a weird problem - to bad I can't leave well enough alone...