View Full Version : Carburetor Heads Up

Jakester9500
March 23rd, 2010, 04:42 PM
Okay, so I'm pretty new to the whole carburetor world, and motorcycles on top of that. I'm looking at picking up an 01 ex250 off of a guy at work, the thing only has like 3800 miles on it, and it hasn't been run for probably 2 years now. He said he started it before winter, but not run, on the street.

So, I'm just wondering, are the carbs going to be junk after having the gas sit in them for this long, or what could I be in store for?

It has been garage kept, so it at least hasn't been sitting outside. But I haven't torn it apart or anything, but I just want to know if it's gonna be a bigger pain to deal with than I'm really looking for

Thanks

Momaru
March 23rd, 2010, 05:20 PM
The carbs likely aren't junk, more likely just will need a good cleaning which isn't hard to do at all with some tools, time and a little patience. There's a guide linked from the new-gen tech DIY section that's pretty helpful

Snake
March 23rd, 2010, 05:30 PM
Here is a link to the DIY.

http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10298

Jakester9500
March 23rd, 2010, 05:40 PM
I'm just a little afraid I'd mess something up, since I've never messed with a carb before. But then two places I talked to said its like 300 dollars to clean, and that's when I had to raise a red flag to the whole idea.

I wouldn't mind learning things of how to work on a bike, I'm just not trying to buy a money pit
Posted via Mobile Device

Slabrocks
March 23rd, 2010, 05:50 PM
what kind of money are you spending?
do you have free time to "tinker"?
how mechanical are you with regular car stuff?

those three questions will help your decision

Jakester9500
March 23rd, 2010, 05:57 PM
Alright, the price of the bike is 1500. But I'm not trying to get much more than that wrapped up in it, since its my first bike.

I have some time, but sometimes am not the most patient to be honest.