View Full Version : Joe Rocket Aura vs. Scorpion Elektra leather jackets

Sabi3786
April 7th, 2010, 11:57 AM
Hey guys I'm new to Ninjette...just got my ride a month ago. Then plan is to get some safety gear! I def want a leather jacket and one that preferably matches my bike. So I'm lookin for black, black/white, black/silver, that sorta ish.

I've checked reviews on these 2 jackets, both seem legit, but I would like more opinions. It's between the Joe Rocket Aura (I found one for $283) and the Scorpion Elektra (found one for $165). And while I'm at it...if you think the Elektra is suitable...which color?? Black, ink, or white lol. I am getting more and more indecisive as time goes on haha. Any insight would be appreciated ;)

http://www.newenough.com/street/protective_apparel/leather_jackets_and_pants/joe_rocket/ladies_aura_leather_motorcycle_jacket.html

http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/1/2/49/13683/ITEM/Scorpion-Womens-Elektra-Jacket.aspx

DirtyDave
April 8th, 2010, 01:15 AM
The Joe Rocket in my opinion just looks better. I've never owned any Scorpion stuff but I can tell you that if I were to crash I'd rather be wearing my Joe Rocket Sonic leather jacket than anything else. It's just a sturdy, well made jacket. That being said though I've never heard any complaints about Scorpion gear but based on looks and my experience with JR, I'd go with it. If I were female of course.

Momaru
April 8th, 2010, 04:47 AM
FWIW my experience has been exactly the opposite of David's. Every piece of JR gear I've seen that was more than a month old had stitching coming out of somewhere and the bits I've seen crashed (with one exception) didn't fare too well.

I haven't crashed Scorpion gear (personally or seen in person), but the Stinger jacket I picked up feels very solid, the stitching is thorough and the fit beats out every other jacket I've got.