View Full Version : Is this what I'm doing wrong?

toast
April 7th, 2010, 02:47 PM
Took this from another thread (http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=41382) so I didn't derail the discussion:
If you downshift too quick (before you hit the clutch in with your hand) or sloppy sometimes the rear will break loose a bit while the tranny catches up to the engine..
Not saying that's what you did but sounds like maybe close.

So, I'm a noob, just to be clear :o and cornering is still a little hit-or-miss for me. Sometimes when I'm slowing down to make a corner and I downshift it feels like my rear tire is swinging out from under me...am I downshifting too quickly or too far? I know that I should be finished slowing down before I get into the corner, but sometimes right before I turn in I think that I'm going too fast and I try to slow down and/or downshift. Whatever I'm doing, it's a really disconcerting feeling :(

I noticed last weekend that I have a couple of bad habits I need to break NOW, this being one of them (using the clutch to slow down in the same too-fast-for-a-corner situation is the other one).

Thanks for your input!

CC Cowboy
April 7th, 2010, 02:58 PM
Personally, I use the brakes to slow down not the engine. Do all your braking (and downshifting) while you are still upright on the bike. One you have slowed down enough, make your turn. Then accelerate coming out of the turn. It is easy once you get the hang of it. It just takes practice.

kkim
April 7th, 2010, 03:02 PM
Personally, I use the brakes to slow down not the engine. Do all your braking (and downshifting) while you are still upright on the bike. One you have slowed down enough, make your turn. Then accelerate coming out of the turn. It is easy once you get the hang of it. It just takes practice.

+1

slow in, fast out.

cnichols79us
April 7th, 2010, 05:03 PM
+2....