View Full Version : My run in with a large dog.

ericdrum
June 2nd, 2010, 12:27 PM
When I took the MSF course and they taught us about how to approach dogs coming after you, I thought to myself, "Hmmm, what are the chances of a run in like that?". Well I'm a total noob still. The 3rd day of riding ever on my new bike, I come to a stop sign. Just as I get across the street, a very large pissed off dog is charging at me. I couldn't believe it. My training kicked in, and I slowed down. He changed his trajectory and I punched it leaving him in the dust. It got the heart racing for sure, but I got out of it clean. Thanks to the MSF course, this is one skill that I'm glad I knew how to use.

kkim
June 2nd, 2010, 12:50 PM
yep... there seems to be some sort of magnetic attraction between dogs and bikes. You'll be surprised how much good, useful info you learned at the MSF.

:scooter: :doggy:

tjkamper
June 2nd, 2010, 01:08 PM
Dogs love to chase bikes. I've been chased many times. Way to keep a cool head and use that MSF training you invested in.

rceezy
June 2nd, 2010, 01:12 PM
I'm glad you made a safe get away! It's probably the dangling legs that attract them.

Guinss
June 2nd, 2010, 02:29 PM
Great that you took use of the MSF, not easy to keep it cool with a dog charging you.

I remember when i was riding my 50 cc, it was limited to 35 mph, managing about 25 mph uphills. Crappy acceleration in other words. No MSF for me at that time, being 16 years old and on my 2nd week riding or so. Met a huge dog in very good shape, it was no fun; luckily i wasnt eaten.

CZroe
June 2nd, 2010, 05:21 PM
Great that you took use of the MSF, not easy to keep it cool with a dog charging you.

I remember when i was riding my 50 cc, it was limited to 35 mph, managing about 25 mph uphills. Crappy acceleration in other words. No MSF for me at that time, being 16 years old and on my 2nd week riding or so. Met a huge dog in very good shape, it was no fun; luckily i wasnt eaten.