View Full Version : Extended warranty. Worth it?

Sailariel
January 8th, 2009, 10:48 AM
I have noticed that there are many on this forum who bought new 2008-2009 Ninjettes. How many have gotten the extended warranty? Are they worth the money? It seems to me that after riding the bike, any defects would have surfaced. I`m interested in your thoughts--for or against.

BlueTyke
January 8th, 2009, 10:53 AM
Well I didn't get an 08 or 09 but I did buy an 06 off the lot and got the extended warranty. I am glad I did due to Tyke breaking down and needing a good amount of the engine replaced. I know that if it wasn't under warranty I would be rather screwed.

HKr1
January 8th, 2009, 11:04 AM
Dont think there worth it :)

I dont mind working on electrical & mechanical things, so if something breaks down the road........ Iam all for fixing it myself.

TnNinjaGirl
January 8th, 2009, 11:15 AM
I got an extended warranty because if anything ever breaks I'm a certified mechanic and I get paid to fix it. Plus, insurance is just that.

Alex
January 8th, 2009, 11:28 AM
I get them on some of my bikes, and not others, depending on how long I plan to keep them and if I know of any potential gotchas out there. Right now I have extended warranties on all of our bikes. I've had great luck with Kawasaki extended warranties in the past; they covered thousands of dollars of work on my ZX-12R that would have been all out of pocket without the warranty. I've also heard that unlike some other manufacturers, once out of warranty Kawi is not particularly generous with picking up the tab for issues, even if they are from a clear bike defect and nothing the owner did. With only 12 months on the basic warranty, that's not enough time for everything to show up that might show up, IMO.

Sound Wave
January 8th, 2009, 02:19 PM