View Full Version : Downshifting prior to a turn

NinjaD27
June 26th, 2010, 07:08 AM
Hello all! I am new to this wonderful site and decided to ask the experts about this one issue I've been having. This is my first bike and everything is going pretty smoothly except when/how to downshift before a turn. Let say we're traveling at 50 mph in 6th gear. You want to make a relatively sharp right turn onto another road. What is the best way to combine downshifting and braking before the turn? I made one of these turns in a higher gear and the engine definitely not happy w/ me. So what is your preference: brake to lower RPMs then downshift? is it possible to downshift while braking? or let up on the throttle a good bit, downshift, then brake? Its taking me a while to prepare to make these turns and I would love some help on improving my skills. Thanks! :D

bob706
June 26th, 2010, 07:20 AM
Welcome to the forum. You should have all your braking done before the turn. You can downshift while braking just go into the turn at the appropriate gear/speed and gently throttle through the turn.

ally99
June 26th, 2010, 07:23 AM
Here's the way I approach a corner when I know I need to downshift.
First, I set my body position where I want it so I don't have to move at all during steering. Next brake to a safe entry speed and downshift while slowing but prior to entering the corner (I want to be off the clutch before I start leaning into the corner). Then look ALL THE WAY through the corner, set my lean, and steer while rolling on the throttle to keep my suspension stable. I don't like downshifting while leaned over because my goal is to keep the bike as smooth as possible and avoid upsetting it while traction is compromised in a corner. :-) I hope this helps! :-)

Momaru
June 26th, 2010, 10:33 AM