View Full Version : proper downshifting?

heylookitsfranco
October 5th, 2010, 10:21 PM
:EDIT: Oops, sorry Alex!, should've put this on the Riding Skills page. is there a way i can move it myself without bothering you? lol

I've had my bike for just about 2 weeks now and I'm still learning how to ride properly... I was wondering if it's bad for the bike when you downshift and just let the clutch out (slowly, naturally) instead of blipping the throttle? I might be (probably am) wrong, but I feel like it's easier to slow the bike down without adding anymore throttle and letting the engine stop the bike?

through newbtacular trial and error, I've discovered that merely letting the clutch out at 25 mph in 1st gear is a BAD idea. i pulled that clutch right back in hehe.

Momaru
October 5th, 2010, 10:25 PM
I'd suspect it'll accelerate your clutch friction plate wear. The question is how much vs rev-matching given the ninjette's practically a paperweight on wheels.

backinthesaddleagain
October 5th, 2010, 10:29 PM
yeah dropping the clutch at 25mph in first is a bit much. plus you could cause the rear tire to kick out a bit. to be honest i don't do alot of blipping, but rahter gently release the clutch and then try to get rpm's back.

kkim
October 6th, 2010, 01:35 AM
I never downshift the bike into first except when it's at a stop/just before rolling to a stop.

you can do a lot of engine damage if you spin the engine too fast by downshifting too early into an inappropriate gear. 25 in first is waaay to fast for first. :(

use both your brakes and engine to help slow the bike. both your brakes and engine will thank you.

think of the clutch as a gentle way to engage gears. imagine it as a variable pillow between the metal to metal blows the gears encounter when you shift.

Alex
October 6th, 2010, 06:04 AM
/moved to riding skills

bob706
October 6th, 2010, 06:34 AM