View Full Version : Turning Signals..

supermanzdead
November 6th, 2010, 08:11 PM
...as you all know, I am new to riding and one of the hardest things for me is turning the turning signal off. I am sure that sounds lame but after driving a car for so long and not having to worry about it I forget all the time. (I am sure I look real smart with the left signal on for half a mile..)

If it is dark out the flashing green light usually catches my eye fast but in the middle of the day when the sun is out I tend to miss it.

Did you have this problem?

00NissanNinja
November 6th, 2010, 08:27 PM
Yep for the first couple of weeks I sometimes forgot it was on. Eventually you get used to it. I got in the habit of turning it off right after I finish my turn. You should just try to poke at it every once in awhile to turn it off to be sure its off till you get used to turning it off

kkim
November 6th, 2010, 08:30 PM
develop a mental checklist.

supermanzdead
November 6th, 2010, 08:31 PM
Yeah, I am typically coming out of turns and upshifting and forgetting about the signal...

I am sure it will take some getting used to, I was better today but I had to think about it. I will hopefully get to where I don't have to think about it...

Flashmonkey
November 6th, 2010, 11:13 PM
I press to cancel the signal button every 2 or 3 minutes or so. It's second nature now. I even give it a press or two when sitting idle at lights.

supermanzdead
November 7th, 2010, 07:37 AM
You must be very fidgety...lol

JeffM
November 7th, 2010, 07:57 AM
It becomes a habit to push the switch after each turn. I check my signal switch when I check my mirrors.

It really isn't being fidgety. Canceling the signals can save you from getting mowed over by a cager.

Ever hit the horn button instead of the turn switch?:rolleyes:

supermanzdead
November 7th, 2010, 08:04 AM
I have hit the horn on accident a few times...but it is just the stock horn that isn't really loud enough to hear...LOL

JMcDonald