View Full Version : Low-Speed Maneuvering

1994Ninja250F
November 24th, 2010, 09:08 AM
Hello,

Ever since I started riding motorcycles a few years ago, there's been something that's always given me some problems. Lets say I pull up to a four-way stop, and want to turn left. As I'm starting out from a stop and turning at the same time, I tend to take the turn wide all the time. Not wide enough to almost hit the curb, but it makes me uncomfortable. I should also say that this only happens with me at slow speeds. What advice can you guys give me on how to fix this?

llenta
November 24th, 2010, 10:01 AM
i had the same issue when i was first started riding. for me it was a confidence thing. i wasn't comfortable at the time leaning the bike over at such low speeds, i always thought the bike would fall over. i would try to turn with just moving the handlebars and i always swung a bit wide. i found for me that if i just trust the bike to not slip out under me, i could lean the bike over quite a bit as long as i had some throttle. for me, i just needed to lean the bike a bit more and tight turns were a piece of cake.

of course everybody situation is a little different, but that was my experience. its amazing how tight these little bikes can turn around when you have confidence in them.

SVBS
November 24th, 2010, 11:00 AM
when I first started, I also have problem with u-turns, always put both feet down, took me a few weeks to get over it, advises is to trust your baby , and you'll get over it in no time :)

lux
November 24th, 2010, 11:15 AM
You've been riding for a few years so I apologize if you know this already: Look where you want to go, and try to practice figure eights. Have you taken the MSF course? We practiced figure eights in an outline of a rectangle. That would seem to help with the slow speed sharp-angled turns. David L. Hough has a some books, Proficient Motorcycling and More Proficient Motorcycling. I thought they were good reads.

1994Ninja250F