View Full Version : Downshifting for a right turn.

clintalmighty
January 8th, 2011, 01:19 PM
So today was my second day out on the street, I still have work yet to do on my engine braking (quite a bit). However, I was approaching a right turn with a green light and I knew i had to brake and get down to a proper gear for the turn, except I didn't know what gear to shift down to (I was running in 6th). So I just rolled off the throttle, pulled in the clutch, kicked down to 3rd or 4th and coasted halfway thru the corner before slowly easing out the clutch and giving it gas. What should I have done?

DEXSPEED
January 8th, 2011, 01:28 PM
i'm not a pro by any means,my best advice will be purchase keith code's "a twist of a wrist II" CORNERING BIBLE.i have watched it over and over etc..very ,very helpfull to us noobs.:thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:
the video even explains how "advice "from other riders can lead to bad habits.

JMcDonald
January 8th, 2011, 01:36 PM
That works just fine, really. Ideally you want to already be in the correct gear and speed before you start the turn, with the clutch out (as opposed to coasting), so you can begin rolling on the throttle through the turn (Slow--Look--Press--Roll). However, especially when making right turns with traffic behind me, I do find myself trail braking (braking into the turn) in order to get out of the way of following traffic as quickly as possible, and then feathering out the clutch to get back on the gas (without jerking myself going from off- to on-throttle) in order to exit the turn.

But really, I wouldn't say you did anything *wrong*. Yeah, it wasn't ideal, but in street riding conditions rarely are so it is best you just become as comfortable with the bike as you can, so you can shift / turn / brake / feather / roll on the controls whenever you need to and as smoothly as possible.

Good luck and have fun!

JMcDonald
January 8th, 2011, 01:43 PM