View Full Version : First Post, First Crash

wtfbuck
March 18th, 2011, 10:24 AM
Greetings everyone,

I'm a newbie on this forum and to the motorcycling world as well. Just hit 400 miles on my '09 250 and had my first mishap today.

Left early in the morning to visit the insurance company and get my coverage all in order. Can't ask for a better day to crash I suppose. Then proceeded to go practicing on this pretty tame rural road nearby. And on the way home, 3 streets from my house I ended up taking a turn too fast and lowsided my bike.

All I remember really was leaning the bike too much and feeling the pegs scrape and then losing the back end and going sliding for a bit. There was a little bit of gravel on the road but I don't think it contributed much to me crashing. My body position on the bike was awful and I don't think I was leaning off at all.

I feel pretty stupid for crashing only 400 miles into my riding career. My gear did its job for the most part, will definitely invest in some nicer gloves however. The cheapy alpine stars gloves I had were too short and left me with a small scrape on my wrist.

Oh well I guess lesson learned. Once my new brake pedal assy. gets ordered I'll be heading back out to give it another go.

Live2ride
March 18th, 2011, 10:29 AM
Welcome aboard! It always makes for a good story when you walk away with minor injuries :D. Glad to hear your alright.

FrugalNinja250
March 18th, 2011, 10:34 AM
Word to the wise: Gravel is evil, as evil as sand and ice and wet leaves and wet pavement striping and oil and transmission fluid and antifreeze and...you get the idea. Anything that is not bonded firmly to the road's surface will by default roll/slide/move when a cornering tire goes over it. The tire grips the gravel just fine, but gravel doesn't grip the pavement worth a darn. If you were scraping pegs and hit even one piece of gravel that could be enough to trigger a lowside easily.

Yasko
March 18th, 2011, 10:43 AM