View Full Version : MavTV

CC Cowboy
March 24th, 2011, 05:38 PM
I'm watching an enduro on MavTV. I might have said this before (actually, I've probably said this before), if you want to be a great rider and have control in any situation, you need to ride a dirt bike in the woods and learn how your body controls the bike.

After my first year of racing I started riding dirt bikes in the woods and I improved to the point of not being worried when the bike gets loose. If the front steps out, no problem, if the rear steps out, no problem, it's all part of the fun.

Anyone that has some woods near by (with trails) needs to get a dirt bike and go have the time of your life being out of control.

kkim
March 24th, 2011, 07:50 PM
agree with you 110%. the art of being able to stay calm while the bike is slipping and sliding under you is something every rider should master. In the dirt, it's common and the way bikes are meant to be ridden. On the street, hopefully, you'll never encounter a sliding bike, but if it ever does happen and you've got some dirt experience, you tend to correct for/handle it instinctively.

I'm simply amazed how fast the pros are in those enduros. I was just watching the racing the other day saying how easy it is to ride that fast for a short distance, but to do it all day long is something I wouldn't be able to handle, both physically and mentally. I'd wrap myself around a tree before the end of the day... more likely after the first 10 minutes! :p

gfloyd2002
March 25th, 2011, 05:47 AM
This is the whole purpose behind Rich Oliver's Mystery School (http://www.richoliver.net/). Here is what Rich has to say on this question:

HOW WILL LEARNING TO SLIDE ON THE DIRT HELP MY STREET RIDING OR ROAD RACING?