View Full Version : Changing Lanes Without Turning Your Head?

NathanF
May 10th, 2011, 02:03 AM
Hello all,
Newbie here, a few weeks in. Took the course, practicing often, but I'm having trouble with turning my head for lane changes.

A lot of it is a simple inability to turn my neck effectively. My neck is fairly stiff, which makes it difficult for me to do wide sweeping turns. Another big problem is that my helmet (RF-1100) catches on the shoulder armor in my jacket. I tried three separate jackets, and while in riding position, they all catch. Raising my handlebars up a bit fixed it slightly, but I definitely have to consciously lower my shoulder a bit to turn without catching. That means a quick, panic turn can result in a catch.

It also just feels wrong to take my eyes off my path of travel, especially with the "go where you look" phenomenon.

Any thoughts on this?

Would it be totally insane to just rely on the mirrors assuming I have them properly adjusted and use the lean forward method to check the blindspots? (And this is assuming I replace the stock mirrors with proper, further out mirrors that don't just show my shoulders, as well as spend some time learning exactly where the boundary lines of coverage are?)

I already added stick on blind spot mirrors, though I've found they come with their own serious problem - the illusion of distance. Those things make cars look a good 50 feet away when they are really 10-20.

I am intrigued by the rear view camera kit that is sold for the Ninja, so that is an option as well.

Thanks for your input - just trying to be as safe as possible.

kawboyCAFE
May 10th, 2011, 04:02 AM
never had a problem with turning my head. maybe you need a different helmet if it keeps catching.

bob706
May 10th, 2011, 04:07 AM
Practice, practice, practice. Don't rely soley on your mirrors. :2cents:

Bols
May 10th, 2011, 04:13 AM