View Full Version : Bike was low sided - where do I go from here?

Trailerboy531
July 28th, 2011, 02:45 PM
So my friend was begging me to let him ride my bike. I figured he'd ridden before and just wanted to wake it around the parking lot so, why not be nice and let him try 'er out. Blah blah blah - he low sided my baby. The right foot peg is broken off with the rear break pedal, the plastics all over the place are scratched to hell, the Area P can is too. From looking at the pics can you guys tell what needs to be replaced and where I might find these parts? I just started riding 2 months ago so I really haven't had much time to figure a lot of this stuff out yet, I had hoped I'd have more time to learn this stuff before it all became important...

The bike also wouldn't start up right afterwards and I was having trouble getting it to shift gears but I eventually got it in to neutral. I starts now that i'm home though and the shifting seems to be fine; I'm guessing the motor was flooded?

So does anybody have suggestions of what, mechanically speaking, I need to check out and how and where I can get some replacement parts for my baby. Thanks guys..

nickjpass
July 28th, 2011, 02:51 PM
I can't tell if the fairings or frame are cracked. But as far as I can see you need a new rear set. Exhaust looks fine but I can't really tell. As for the scratches, repaint them or leave it as it is. You can always call your insurance company. But since you didn't drop it (You can always lie: insurance fraud though (I think)).

I wouldn't even give a cycle (or anything that I own) to anyone to use. Not even if he has 30 years of MotoGP experience under his belt.

austexjg
July 28th, 2011, 02:51 PM
Sounds like something your friend should be looking into - repair is the cheapest way to go. Never let anyone ride your bike without cash in hand or a easily accessible ATM - I have seen many an idiot claim to know how to ride.

Friends.... :lolsign:

adri99an
July 28th, 2011, 02:57 PM