View Full Version : is this going to be a problem?

noob1220
August 30th, 2011, 09:18 AM
I finally had a chance to go out and ride last night for an hour and a half. When I reluctantly went home, I pulled up in front of the garage door and summoned my husband out of the house for supervision so I could try and back it in to our cramped one-car garage. Normally, I stop at the end of the driveway and power walk it up to the door, park it and let him put it in the garage because I'm a noob like that. :o This time though, I was feeling confident and actually rode it up the driveway and got it turned around to back it in. This is where my dilemma occurs - our driveway is sloped, not steep, but steep enough that I couldn't for the life of me push the bike backwards up the hill. Not that it was heavy - but I couldn't touch the ground well enough to push it. I'm not that short (5'5") but I'm not quite flat footed on the ground when I'm on the bike. Hasn't been an issue until I had to try and push it backwards up a hill, and my tiptoes can't even move the damn thing. I had to get off and let the hubs back it into the garage. Slightly embarrassing, and definitely a confidence breaker. Of course, I can't think of any place where I'd have to perform that maneuver anywhere other than my driveway, but you never know right? Does anyone else have this problem? Suggestions? Or should I just not worry about?

Alex
August 30th, 2011, 09:26 AM
You did the right thing. Just get off the bike and walk it anywhere you need to push it. Much safer than trying to paddle it backwards if you can't plant both feet on the ground firmly.

alex.s
August 30th, 2011, 09:27 AM
can't you get off and walk it in? for the shorter people or the people on taller bikes backing up a hill can be an issue... just get off the bike and push. always keep the bike leaning against you. if you let it lean the other way, it falls and takes you with it if you hang on

algerath
August 30th, 2011, 09:32 AM