View Full Version : Switching bike styles, can't decide.

Mountain Dew
September 6th, 2011, 02:41 PM
I've had my Ninjette for a few months, the wow factor of a sportbike is wearing off. It's just not really my style now that I've had some experience with it.

After looking around for a while, I liked supermotos and dual sports. Specifically the DRZ400SM and Triumph Tiger 800XC.

That was the case until I came across these two beautiful bikes.

The first being a Triumph Bonneville T100.

http://img1.classistatic.com/cps/po/110811/914r1/4879b0_27.jpeg

http://www.triumphmotorcycles.com/motorcycles/range/classics/bonneville/2012/5033

The second being a Triumph Thruxton.

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/uploads12/triumphthruxton2008+9352+001+f+jpg1208562689.jpg

http://www.triumphmotorcycles.com/motorcycles/range/classics/thruxton/2011/Thruxton

They're both nearly the same price, and have almost exactly identical specs.

-

Anyone have any experience with either of these?

Alex
September 6th, 2011, 02:49 PM
We had a new-gen Bonneville for a few years. Fun bike, looked great. Handling was so-so, and the brakes weren't great, but I've heard that Triumph have made some real improvements in braking in the years since. Very limited wind protection, even with a flyscreen added, and if you add a real windscreen, it kills the look of the bike. Not a great long-distance highway mount, primarily for that reason. I wouldn't take one any farther than I'd feel comfortable taking the ninjette. Engine sounds great, and you get a ton of comments wherever you stop, especially from the older generation, who come over to see what initially appears to be a classic bike in perfect condition.

alex.s
September 6th, 2011, 03:35 PM
you forgot the option for "street triple"

Indy250r
September 6th, 2011, 05:09 PM
you forgot the option for "street triple"

I second that emotion.

Snake
September 6th, 2011, 05:19 PM
My vote is for the Triumph.

zilaniz
September 6th, 2011, 05:20 PM