View Full Version : "snake bitten" sunday 10/9/11 ..US-421

hal9089
October 16th, 2011, 08:41 PM
I started riding in February of 2009.. here it was October 2011 and i had never been to US-421 aka "The Snake" ..my other riding friends insisted that they needed to "pop my 421 cherry" asap. and heres my story.. lol.

i left kingsport headed for bristol/shady valley at about 4:30 on sunday the 9th [a week ago today] and made it safely to the famous "Shady Valley Country Store" ..little did i know the ride back would be a different story.

fnRglvD6ilU

if you let this video^ load and jump to 12:00 ..the curve i went down on is at 12:15. [i was coming the opposite way, so it was a left turn for me] i ran wide and leaned hard.. overcorrected.. back tire caught the edge of the road and i slid into the gravel driveway. VERY thankful it wasnt a dropoff... the first 5 minutes of the video is a little boring.. its before you get to the crazy stuff.

i was wearing my icon jacket, jeans, and nikes (not the best shoes for the occasion, i know).. wasnt wearing my gloves but walked away very easily.. all i ended up with was some road rash on my left palm and a banged up left knee with a couple cuts, scrapes, and now bruises.. so my friend lent me a glove for my left hand and we set off on the hour+ ride home.

the actual "crash" hardly phased me.. i was more concerned with the sounds of my helmet and fairings against the road. i remember thinking "if my favorite helmet is messed up im gonna be pissedd!!:mad: "

now.. some pictures..

15457 15458 15459 15460 15461

CZroe
October 16th, 2011, 09:24 PM
Glad you're OK! Sad to see another rashed CP blue fairing (best color by far). :(

If you plan to replace the fairings, expect to wait a long time to find one. Get some gloves and boots first!

hal9089
October 16th, 2011, 09:30 PM