View Full Version : Came off my bike, with a strange ending...

dark_sparkles
October 27th, 2011, 05:34 AM
I was out practicing skills in a quiet industrial area about 10 mins away from my house. I'm still quite nervous so usually do 10km/hr less than the speed limit since i choose low traffic times to ride at the moment while i'm still learning.

Today after practicing, i felt really good as i had achieved so many skills that i had been struggling with previously. About 5 mins away from home, a hummer swerves across 2 lanes into my lane where i was doing approx 40km/hr as i was about to turn into a side street.

i swerved, lost control and hit the gutter, riding up and onto the grass while i knew i was about to go over the handlebars and then... i get flung to the right side?!

......This all happened in front of a milkbar (convenience store?), where a group of 6 very big Samoan guys were just leaving. Since i was doing such a low speed , 2 of the guys actually CAUGHT me as i started to come off the bike, but more amazingly, the other 4 guys caught my bike!!!

The only injury to anyone was a bruise to the left side of one of the guys body's from the handlebar hitting him, but after i assessed him he seemed fine (i'm a paramedic), and he was already laughing about it. My bike? Not a scratch on it since it never touched the ground!

I'm so grateful to them, they saved me and my brand new bike! So of course i invited them all back to my place and made them dinner :D Turns out they all ride Harleys, and have invited me to ride with them, so today i made 6 new riding buddies too (but not before throwing some jokes in about a ninja riding with them :p) :thumbup:

There was a girl driving the hummer... she says a spider was on her :angry7:

greg737
October 27th, 2011, 05:44 AM
The old "there was a spider on me" defense. You can get away with anything as long as there's a "spider on you."