View Full Version : Any tax experts?

headshrink
November 3rd, 2011, 08:41 PM
I have what I think is probably a simple question regarding Federal taxes. Do we have any experts here?

almost40
November 6th, 2011, 06:20 PM
How about post your question???

headshrink
November 7th, 2011, 10:56 AM
OK, here is the situation.

A family member has offered to pay off my student loan. It is part of my inheritance, except she isn't dead, so I assume inheritance taxes don't enter into the equation. The plan is that she pay off the loan directly, with no money touching my hands. I'm wanting to know if there will be any tax consequences for me, or her. Details are as follows:

-Loan amount = 35K - 40K USD
-She is in Australia, and an Australian citizen.
-I'm of course in the USA, and an American.
-She is a relative (by marriage).

RatherUneek
November 7th, 2011, 02:02 PM
Disclaimer: I am not a tax expert. I am an accounting student with a very limited knowledge about federal taxation. Having said that, the gift tax is generally taxable to the donor which would be your family member. I have found the following information on the IRS website which sounds like it may exclude her in this situation though. Hope the information is useful.

What can be excluded from gifts?
The general rule is that any gift is a taxable gift. However, there are many exceptions to this rule. Generally, the following gifts are not taxable gifts.

Gifts that are not more than the annual exclusion for the calendar year.
Tuition or medical expenses you pay for someone (the educational and medical exclusions).
Gifts to your spouse.
Gifts to a political organization for its use.

Link to website: http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=108139,00.html

headshrink
November 7th, 2011, 04:21 PM