View Full Version : Luggage for long rides

kawininja92
November 15th, 2011, 04:18 PM
So I'm a college student and I'm going home for a few days over Thanksgiving break. (Just Wednesday afternoon-Saturday morning) and of course I want to ride the bike home. It's only about an hour and a half a way but I'm not sure how to get all my stuff there? I always use a backpack but since I'll need a lot more clothes they won't all fit. I've seen plenty of luggage options but what's the most practical? Thanks everyone!

setasai
November 15th, 2011, 04:46 PM
Cheapest? And works well for a pinch. I'd say a soft dufflebag that fits as much stuff as you think you will need and then use sleeping bag straps or, my favorite, velcro straps to cinch it down tight.

http://www.rokstraps.com/moto.html
or
http://www.rei.com/product/618739/quick-tape-recreational

The quick tape velcro straps are super versatile. I love having them around. You can even strap your backpack ontop of the duffle bag to make it easier for you.

I would personally avoid bungee cords.

kawininja92
November 15th, 2011, 04:57 PM
So if I have the bag sitting on the rear seat horizontally, what do I strap it to? I guess it's hard to picture it being secure since the bag will stick out further than the sides of the bike. But I will definitely be getting some velcro strips! Thanks

akima
November 15th, 2011, 05:03 PM
For that distance and that many days away I think you could easily get away with just wearing a normal backpack and attaching spacious, magnetic, tank bag to your bike. That's what I've used for similar trips and it worked out great. I prefer not to wear a back pack while riding, but for one-off trips I don't mind.

setasai
November 15th, 2011, 06:29 PM
So if I have the bag sitting on the rear seat horizontally, what do I strap it to? I guess it's hard to picture it being secure since the bag will stick out further than the sides of the bike. But I will definitely be getting some velcro strips! Thanks