ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > Blogs > alex.s

Notices

Rate this Entry

2 years of riding... what i've learned

Posted September 6th, 2011 at 03:25 PM by alex.s

tomorrow marks the end of my 2nd year of riding motorcycles on the street. yay i've survived so far! i always like looking back and reading or remembering how i thought about things then. hopefully years down the road i'll look back at this and laugh at how silly and stupid i was.

It kind-of amazes me how different i think of motorcycles now vs before i started riding. i never really understood the whole "open road freedom" thing before. "open road? hows it different from being in a car with the windows down?" i would think. "freedom? i'm free to go places in my car!"... hah. when i thought of motorcycling i would think of the skills required for operating a two wheeled vehicle. i would think of how great super sports looked. back then, i don't think i would have ever considered getting an older bike. it used to be "kz1000? you mean that ugly old kawi that kinda looks like a harley?" now it's "kz1000, that beautiful beast of a time machine with such a stylish tail... god i want an old kz1000... oh man a naked kz1 cafe bike... i need one." back then it was "sport bikes", "harleys", and "dirtbikes"... that was all i knew and couldn't tell the difference between a softail and a shadow. "enduro? that's like long-haul truck racing right?" now the difference between the 94 fzr600 and the 95 (they look identical, save paint) is astonishing to me... so many changes to the frame construction... i mean to move from an all steel to an all aluminum frame in one year, with no issues, keeping almost the exact same mechanical design... astonishing.